Education is the way out of poverty

“I would like to study medicine, I dream about it every day; I have a great passion for that.” It is Fatuma’s biggest dream to become a doctor and she is confident, that she can achieve the required marks. “Also my teacher says I can make it.” Attending a Provincial School brings a lot of challenges. “We have a lot of infrastructural challenges; the school is under-equipped with learning materials and we lack water most of the times. But that does not affect me, I stay focused on my target: finishing school successfully.” By finishing Secondary School Fatuma will be the first one in the family who has achieved that.

 

Fatuma is a young lady who likes making friends like many other girls at her age. However she has come a long way to get where she is now. At first Fatuma was not supported by her family to join school, being a girl she was meant to marry early. Today she says: “My family supports me on my way.” It takes a lot of strength to go that way and Fatuma made it.

She also likes reading novels and motivational books. “These motivational books motivate me a lot. And as a peer counselor I can inspire others with those messages.”

“Education is important because it is the only way out of illiteracy and therefore the way out of poverty.” When asking Fatuma why she thinks that some students do not proceed to Secondary school she says: “Some may have different priorities or are under peer pressure. Others may feel that they can’t manage it because they know people who failed.”

fatuma 1.png

Fatuma is an inspiring young woman who advocates for girl child education and who is a role model herself. We wish her all the best for in the exams.

Leave a comment